Bairds Mainfreight Primary School

A great place to learn a fun place to be

“Anything is possible”

Edward Avenue Otara, Telephone: (09) 274 8271 Fax: (09) 274 9661

About Us:

Bairds Mainfreight Primary School is set in the heart of Otara, Auckland.  Our student roll is mainly Maori and Pasifika, reflecting the rich and wonderful cultures of our community.

The school's core business is children's learning.  We have top quality teachers who provide teaching and learning experiences to ensure that every student has the opportunity to achieve, and to become successful life-long learners.

We are proud of our school, and the wonderful relationship we have with our community.  We firmly believe that this home-school partnership ensures quality education for all of our students.


Alan Lyth

Deputy Principals

Kim Benjamin

Fiona McAree Ngaau

Admin Staff:

Val McKee (PA / Property Manager)

Akauta William (Attendance Manager)

Rex Pennalligen (Finance Manager)

Junior Syndicate:

R5  Mandy McJames & Jarna Martin

R13 Jo Baird

R15 Hilary Pratt

R16 Lynn Bennett

R17 Deborah Doherty

R18 Samantha Wakefield

R19 Julianna Warid

R22 Sheryl Thompson

R23 Yoneka Dayal

Middle Syndicate:

R3  Thursha Vadivelu

R4  Taarika Nair

R7  Michelle Fulford (AP)

R20 Wendy Thomas

R21 Henry Martin

Senior Syndicate:

R8  Melissa Bedford

R9  Jonathan van Campen

R10 Kimberley Williams

R11 Michelle Peters

R12 Bronwyn Elsmore

Reading Recovery:

Sonya Hetherington & Saris Moodley

Part Time Teachers:

Jody O'Connell

Faith Hards

Anne Emery

Social Worker in Schools:

To be appointed

Librarian/Teacher Aide: Katy Otikore

Teacher Aide: Perise Armstrong

Teacher Aide: Terai Tuakana

Teacher Aide: Jackie Kaipo

Teacher Aide: Meleane Leturu

Teacher Aide: Sene Neemia

Teacher Aide: Wayne Kneebone

Teacher Aide: Josephine Luatua

Teacher Aide: Katie Cameron

Caretaker: Wayne Lawrence

Tuck shop: Mae & Wayne Wipere

Board of Trustees:

Chairperson: Martin KAIPO

Elected Members:

Natasha SMITH,



Teariki NGAAU

Martin KAIPO.

Staff Trustee:

Michelle PETERS



Minute Secretary:

Rex Pennalligan